| Author |
Message |
fathershark
Hello I'm New here!

Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 3

|
Posted:
Fri Jan 30, 2009 10:18 am |
  |
Received the following message from a scammer (who had gorgeous pictures on the dating site, although I am acutely aware it is probably a male):
"Hey ******, i m glad to hear from u....you really sound like a nice, pure and a honest guy, i would like to meet you when i get back....I really want the guy who calls me beautiful instead of hot. Who will lie under the stars and listen to my heart beat. I want the guy who kisses my forehead..i want a guy Who wants to show me off to his friends. I want the guy who thinks I'm as pretty without makeup on, as I'm all made up. I'll wait for the one that reminds me how much he cares about me and how lucky he is to have me. I want the one that turns to his friends and says..."Thats her".like i told u that i m currently in Lagos...but i m done with what i came here for, i mean i m supposed to have returned back Home few days back but it was due to the situation i m in at the moment, that's why i m still here....I mean,i bought some art and craft of which i m having some problems with the shipping company.....i m really sad now, i not fine....nevertheless... i will let you know as soon as i sort things out with the shipping company cos i dont want to leave my goods behind or lose any either cos its cost me my fortune...anyway..you just keep in touch and i will write you the very day i will leaving here...hope we will have dinner together when i get back right....cya around soon....i m sad now, i m not fine
Helen"
from a "Helen Wallace" at [email protected]
This IS a romance scam, right? Next "she" will be asking me to help "her" out of the situation "she" is in. |
|
|
|
|
 |
fathershark
Hello I'm New here!

Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 3

|
Posted:
Fri Jan 30, 2009 10:32 am |
  |
Has anyone seen this pic before?
 |
|
|
|
|
 |
Stepan Fetchit
Elite Baiter

Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 1977
Location: Anywhere but squaresville, man

|
Posted:
Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:49 pm |
  |
The picture is not really important.
The picture is stolen from any site on the internet that has more than a few pics of an attractive person.
they are using a romance scam approach to initiate contact, then will mention a few 'hugs and kisses' while they fleece you for the 'shipping company' money.
| Quote: |
| I want the one that turns to his friends and says..."Thats her". |
I said that once to a friend...'That's her...she's the one I got the STD from.' |
_________________ <center> <b>
<A href="http://www.dragonladies.org/bbs">Dragonladies.org</a> |
|
|
|
 |
Cathartic Kate
Elite Baiter

Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Spooner Hall

|
Posted:
Fri Jan 30, 2009 2:16 pm |
  |
@ fathershark
Welcome.
Most definately a scam. The end of the mail reads like a classic set up for a major problem or event that ONLY you can help her with.
Cannot find a similar photo anywhere and checks on e-mail addy also give no info.
Edit to add. This doesn't mean others may not discover something I have overlooked.
They do however change photos and addys.
Can you post e-mail header, maybe the IP can give further clues.
Linky for where parts of the script came from;
http://elliiaanneee.skyrock.com/1879207413-I-Want-A-Guy.html |
_________________ Give the lads some extra pain with your own IT admin from hell - visit toolkits for Grooble Gambit
Proud member of "The Todger Club"
< никогда достаточно
 |
|
|
|
 |
fathershark
Hello I'm New here!

Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 3

|
Posted:
Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:11 am |
  |
Here is the e-mail header (with my addy censored for obvious reasons):
Return-Path: <[email protected]>
X-Original-To:
Delivered-To:
Received: from mail-in.netspace.net.au (mail-in1.netspace.net.au [203.10.110.93])
by mx2.netspace.net.au (Postfix) with ESMTP id E4CD3289C2C
for <@mx2.netspace.net.au>; Fri, 30 Jan 2009 19:08:20 +1100 (EST)
Received: from mail-in.netspace.net.au (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by localhost.netspace.net.au (Postfix) with ESMTP id 71DAA3420A8
for <@netspace.net.au>; Fri, 30 Jan 2009 19:08:21 +1100 (EST)
X-Greylist: domain auto-whitelisted by SQLgrey-1.6.7
Received: from n1b.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com (n1b.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com [76.13.13.71])
by mail-in.netspace.net.au (Postfix) with SMTP id A989B34209B
for <@netspace.net.au>; Fri, 30 Jan 2009 19:08:19 +1100 (EST)
Received: from [76.13.13.25] by n1.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 30 Jan 2009 08:08:18 -0000
Received: from [76.13.10.171] by t4.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 30 Jan 2009 08:08:18 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp112.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 30 Jan 2009 08:08:18 -0000
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3
X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: [email protected]
Received: (qmail 15318 invoked by uid 60001); 30 Jan 2009 08:08:18 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.com;
h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:Date:From:Reply-To:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Message-ID;
b=ZiYalI6O9hoVJTlyLaogu4w9sh30tBLDWebrfb5BakvleIRoNxU3Zh4cFrZXsSIB9GQ0mOaPYdSLE83k3JRnMh7SanWlTnvzlPYLZN5BXYHpDtyXBmw9eR7OFLBzF3R/SfNzUSpvyhlXbZCLw/sMsNiWCZq1DmyyzQg6DX2opj4=;
X-YMail-OSG: hoE4Ob8VM1lD3JbVjcQ3XToRFxHKVnoJKZ8bzcRJWpU5fr8jSex4lf8vfbHVLv6HlrfI708aTnlyeQDCGr0S.qvIqaeJf9jQkFC6l8hp6UKrMuUzQW5waezMP.TCXaU7jPvAxmQGUneCTxxHpDQd9lRr9N9yKAW3qLOHle2lPSqI18pntG1UIxSNKmlPWLaEqGnj
Received: from [83.229.90.15] by web59911.mail.ac4.yahoo.com via HTTP; Fri, 30 Jan 2009 00:08:16 PST
X-Mailer: YahooMailWebService/0.7.260.1
Date: Fri, 30 Jan 2009 00:08:16 -0800 (PST)
From: Wallace Helen <[email protected]>
Reply-To: [email protected]
Subject: Re: Hi Justin
To: @netspace.net.au
In-Reply-To: <[email protected]>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
X-Antivirus: AVG for E-mail 8.0.176 [270.10.15/1924]
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="=======AVGMAIL-4982B6C80000=======" |
|
|
|
|
 |
Dorothy
Baiting Guru

Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 3114
Location: somewhere over the rainbow

|
Posted:
Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:40 am |
  |
Well, it's really in Nigeria. No surprise, actually--when they say they are Africa somewhere, they are typically telling the truth. Their location lie is the claim that they are just visiting, since of course they really live there. |
_________________
 "I've a feeling we're not in Kansas any more..." |
|
|
|
 |
|
|