| Author |
Message |
swappingnames
Not quite a Newb

Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 46

|
Posted:
Sun Sep 14, 2008 9:48 pm |
  |
a girl on myspace posted a topic saying she got a message offering a modeling job out of the blue. this is the message the "agency" sent her:
Hello,
You have a great look!
I am a scout for a company called One Source Talent. We have 7 offices nationwide. We are actively looking for new faces for our new LA office, open this year. We work with both models and actors as well as we have opportunities for dancers and singers.
I would like to set up a time for you to come in and meet with the office director for an evaluation and to discuss the opportunities that we may have for you.
Please contact me back if you are interested, and I will give you the info and set up the meeting. We are only seeking serious individuals.
You may also check out our website for more info. DO NOT fill out an online application since we are already in contact.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Thanks
Amanda Dumouchelle
Talent Scout
One Source Talent
the website is http://www.onesourcetalent.com/
I'd like to know yalls thoughts. |
|
|
|
|
 |
Ima Baeder
Baiting Guru

Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 18312

|
Posted:
Sun Sep 14, 2008 9:57 pm |
  |
The part asking her not to use their online application sounds suspicious, as if they are piggybacking a legit company.
Here is the contact information for their LA office. She should call or write them directly, pasting in the email she received, to ask.
http://www.onesourcetalent.com/contact/losangeles.cfm |
_________________ 348 Fake Sites killed                     
x 100 2 Years  |
|
|
|
 |
lotta
Baiting Guru

Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 13612
Location: 2 Speckled Cct Springfield Lakes QLD 4300

|
Posted:
Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:32 am |
  |
This is a company (previously called TCT), selling a product rather than actually looking for models. They will charge your friend $395.00 to sign up, then proceed to sell her shots needed for a portfolio. My guess is that they work on commission, hence the request not to go through the online application as they person contacting her wants the money.
Do a search for "online source talent scam" and you'll find many unhappy people. |
_________________ <a href="/forum/donate.php">[Click here to donate to 419Eater.com]</a> Lead Support Contact for Missing Posts - (pm me)
bank kills

Alan James Watson (AKA Bi Gal, AKA Big Al, AKA De Master Yoda) -2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 "Doos of the year" award winner
Frederick Fokker:
"I am giving you about a month to get your act together, i am cutting you and the eater a bit of slack"
Dec 11, 2007
 |
|
|
|
 |
justjay
Baiting Guru

Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 2412
Location: ~Data Miner & Esoteric Trivia Collecter~

|
Posted:
Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:00 am |
  |
|
|
|
 |
Wasinitfome
Not quite a Newb

Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Location: the collection plate

|
Posted:
Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:28 pm |
  |
these scams go back to the 50s.
modeling - well, do you really think people need to scour the net to find photogenic people? real agencies turn people down by the 100s who try to walk in the door or ship them snail mail professionally done shots.
But this is not my real area of expertise
TALENT however, is what i do.
real talent agencies are licensed by the entertainment unions. If you don't see the words SAG, AFTRA, AGMA, AEA, AGVA in their letter head or somewhere on their home page BEWARE.
and even if you DO see these acronyms, cross reference it by going to that unions website to check and see.
edit: just checked on One Source. Everything they list under "opportunites" are open call type auditions which would appear in local news, trade papers, and online at VH1 or ABC. A real agency sends you on calls that are NOT open to the public. That's why you pay them. And that's why the client pays THEM, to filter prospects. |
_________________ Life is not a movie. Everyone lies. Good guys lose. And love does NOT not conquer all. - Swimming with Sharks |
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|