SmartFeedSmartFeed          

Porsche Hangout

WELCOME - YOU ARE CURRENTLY VIEWING 419EATER AS A GUEST

By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics and access other forums reserved for members. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today by clicking here.

ScamWarners.com - Internet Anti-Fraud Center - now open!

Lad says he wants to send me money - What's he doing?

View next topic
View previous topic

blindwatchmaker
Hello I'm New here!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I've been baiting this guy for a couple of months ever since I advertised a car (legitimately) and he tried on the Paypal overpayment shipping fee scam.

Tonight I went for the dolla chop, claiming that someone had turned up to collect the cash for the shipping fee as well as the car (in reality I sold the car properly a few weeks ago, but hey...)

Anyway, strangely this bait has morphed into a sweetheart scam (my character is the widow of my first character who I killed off a couple of weeks ago).

So tonight, I told him I was ruined by this happening and was about to kill myself. He seemed to get genuinely upset by this and begged me not to.
I told him that losing the car and the money had left me penniless and I now had no choice but to kill myself as I needed the money from the car sale to pay debts and rent.
He's now offering to send me money to help in the interim!

What's his angle here?

How does he stand to benefit and what's the scam? (I doubt he really intends to help my character but cant figure out his modality.)

Thoughts greatly appreciated!
Yastreb
Demented Opportunist

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

One immediate possibility comes to mind - it'll be a cheque or money order and it'll be for more than you need, because you need to pay some other person as a favour... by Western Union of course.

"I aim to misbehave."

Asena - Pretty Rose