SmartFeedSmartFeed          

WELCOME - YOU ARE CURRENTLY VIEWING 419EATER AS A GUEST

By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics and access other forums reserved for members. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today by clicking here.

ScamWarners.com - Internet Anti-Fraud Center - now open!

These forums are READ ONLY. Click here to register on our new forums - aff.419eater.com

I received a cashier's check

View next topic
View previous topic

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
hartleyrg
Hello I'm New here!

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:54 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have been baiting scammers for a couple years, just for fun. I lead them on and pretend to be an airhead who is falling in love with them and will do whatever they want. Then I misunderstand their directions or my computer/car/phone stops working so I can't do what they want.

An obvious scammer emailed me about a nanny job. I had posted a legitimate ad on craigslist looking for another nanny job. Anyway, I knew right away it wasn't a real job so I did my usual routine, curious to see how he could scam someone who is looking for a job.

I gave him a real PO Box address, so he wouldn't have my home address. I received a cashier's check in the amount of $2199.99. His instructions were to deposit the money in my account, keep $500 for myself for advance payment for watching his son, and then send the rest by western union.

I know not to deposit the check in my account or to send any money by western union.
What I don't know is...

What do I do with the check???

I have tried several times to contact the woman in Washington state who sent it, but no response. I don't know if the money is hers or if it was sent to her by someone else who was also scammed.
manbiteslion
Baiting Guru

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top