SmartFeedSmartFeed          

Porsche Hangout


WELCOME - YOU ARE CURRENTLY VIEWING 419EATER AS A GUEST

By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics and access other forums reserved for members. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today by clicking here.

ScamWarners.com - Internet Anti-Fraud Center - now open!


 wireless networking

View next topic
View previous topic
 
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
spot
Moderator


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 9057
Location: Criminal Disruption Department.


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Help and advice need here.

Windows XP

What I'm trying to do is a connect a stand alone desktop computer to my wireless network but it's not happening "Limited or no connectivity" is the message

The standalone can see the wireless router (full strength) but not connect.

Searches around the net seem to suggest that the network doesn't like the IP address of the new machine.

I have released and renewed the IP address but it keeps giving me the same one back again.

The working network is 192.168.1.2 and the problem machine begins 168.xxxxxxxx

I read somewhere that both those numbers should be different but close together.

Can I manually change the Internal IP address of the problem machine and how do I do it ?

..... and I except someone round at my place within the next three hours do do it for me ! Smile

_________________
Mortar x32 Purple Flower TV Star
Star Whip Jack Boot
View user's profileSend private message
Huntington
Master of Master Baiters


Joined: 23 Dec 2009
Posts: 500
Location: Australia


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:36 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

i can send you a new ip address, but unfortunatly there is a small release fee of only $1140. just send it via wesxern onion to...

_________________
Closed lad accounts x3 Tattoo (Gboyz member SMALLBOI)
falsifying a FBI agent is illegal and will get you arrested, we know where you are and will be coming for you if you do not submut to our requests--- Mr Kis (the FBI agent)
I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO SAY BUT ONLY FOOL AT YOURSLEF INDOORSIDE? GO TO HEALICKATITY ROOKS? (Eve)
View user's profileSend private message
luckey
Moderator


Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 5629
Location: Check the lost and found


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:55 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I ran into something like this when I set up my wireless network, but it was so long ago, I'm not sure I remember what I did to fix it. I may have configured the wireless receiver cards to be in the same IP range as the router.

I found this by Googling a bit:

Quote:
1)Go into the Local Area Connection Properties section of your Ethernet Adapter.
2)Next,select "Internet Protocol TCP\IP" in the list of protocols and sevices that you have there and Click the "Properties" button.
3)Then you get another dialog-box "Internet Protocol TCP\IP Properties" in which you will select "use the following IP address"
3)In the IP address section you enter any IP address for eg: 192.168.0.1 and in the Subnet Mask section you put in 255.255.255.0 a Class C network since you have a very small network.Then Click the OK button and the system would restart for the settings to take place.
Repeat the same procedure in the remaining machines too and ensure that they all have different IP addresses like 192.168.0.2 & 192.168.0.3 and so (notice that only the last number has changed)also, please enter the same subnet mask should be absolutely the same in each and every machine.
Hope this helps.


It sounds familiar.

_________________
Moderator: \ˈmä-də-ˌrā-tər\: noun
A material which slows down neutrons after fission to speeds at which their probability for interaction with the fuel material is increased.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
A Skinner
Texas Lad-Saw Massacre


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 3682
Location: Texas, USA


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:13 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

What I did is similar to what Lucky found:

Go to start
Control Panel
Network connections
Highlight Connected Network
Right Click –
See drop down Menu
Chose Properties
Highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) & double click
Box opens:
Tick Use Following IP Address:
(put in the info from the working machine below)
IP:
Subnet:
Default Gateway:

Tick: Use following DNS Server (if available)
Preferred DNS Server:
Alternate: (may be left blank)

_________________
Safari Safari Safari Mortar x 25
Closed lad accounts X ? Nurse Nastys Audi TT x3 Purple Flower
Sand Timer x2 Easter Egg 2012 Nigeria Benin United Kingdom Ghana
SINCE YOU MADE ME TO GIVE MY CAR AWAY AND ALL THE DISAPOINTMENTS YOU GAVE TO ME,WHICH MADE ME TO STOP CONTACTING YOU. PLEASE DO NOT INVOLVE ME WITH ANYTHING YOU ARE DOING WITH ANYBODY, PLEASE DONT INVOLVE ME.I DONT WANT ANYTHING THAT WILL JEOPARDIZE MY IMAGE IN THIS COUNTRY.I AM A HUMANITARIAN LAWYER.

infact am getting tired with all this speculation in this transaction, honestly if i had known that this is the kind of person you are i would not have contacted for an assistance

Urgent??? Impotent massage

* Help Keep Eater Running - Click here to donate
View user's profileSend private messageSkype Name
spot
Moderator


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 9057
Location: Criminal Disruption Department.


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:03 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks to two out of three of you Smile

I've found everything listed expect:-

Quote:
Tick: Use following DNS Server (if available)
Preferred DNS Server:
Alternate: (may be left blank)


What is my"Preferred DNS Server" , where do I find it ? ...is there another name for it (maybe)

_________________
Mortar x32 Purple Flower TV Star
Star Whip Jack Boot
View user's profileSend private message
HitchHiker
Baiting Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 3453
Location: On a mission to insult every member of Eater.


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:14 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Also check your wireless router to see how many address it will allow and make sure you have set security correct. You don't want to share your internet connection with the neighbours.

_________________
Fake Courier sites killed - 2 x Benin
Fake Bank sites killed - 1 x Nigeria
Vogons unite against 419.

you bloody nigeria scammer you scamm me of 6,800pounds : Billy a cheque scammer.
Closed lad accounts x? Easter EggMortar x2
Ninja Bloody hell I've been ninja'd
<a href="/forum/donate.php">[Click here to help 419Eater.com fight the good fight]</a>

Last edited by HitchHiker on Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private messageSkype Name
A Skinner
Texas Lad-Saw Massacre


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 3682
Location: Texas, USA


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:15 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

^^^ Try ticking the box that says Obtain DNS Server Address Automatically. I actually think that this part can be left blank also.

_________________
Safari Safari Safari Mortar x 25
Closed lad accounts X ? Nurse Nastys Audi TT x3 Purple Flower
Sand Timer x2 Easter Egg 2012 Nigeria Benin United Kingdom Ghana
SINCE YOU MADE ME TO GIVE MY CAR AWAY AND ALL THE DISAPOINTMENTS YOU GAVE TO ME,WHICH MADE ME TO STOP CONTACTING YOU. PLEASE DO NOT INVOLVE ME WITH ANYTHING YOU ARE DOING WITH ANYBODY, PLEASE DONT INVOLVE ME.I DONT WANT ANYTHING THAT WILL JEOPARDIZE MY IMAGE IN THIS COUNTRY.I AM A HUMANITARIAN LAWYER.

infact am getting tired with all this speculation in this transaction, honestly if i had known that this is the kind of person you are i would not have contacted for an assistance

Urgent??? Impotent massage

* Help Keep Eater Running - Click here to donate
View user's profileSend private messageSkype Name
HitchHiker
Baiting Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 3453
Location: On a mission to insult every member of Eater.


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:18 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Another thing. If this is a direct connection, you need to make sure the speed and duplex setting are the same for the router and the PC. Usually 100/full.

_________________
Fake Courier sites killed - 2 x Benin
Fake Bank sites killed - 1 x Nigeria
Vogons unite against 419.

you bloody nigeria scammer you scamm me of 6,800pounds : Billy a cheque scammer.
Closed lad accounts x? Easter EggMortar x2
Ninja Bloody hell I've been ninja'd
<a href="/forum/donate.php">[Click here to help 419Eater.com fight the good fight]</a>
View user's profileSend private messageSkype Name
crossfire
Elite Baiter


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 1152
Location: ten light years away


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

@Spot,

The most possible reason for 'Limited or no connectivity' is one of the security devices your using is not compatible. Most new devices now support WAP2-PSK alone with 'AES' or TKIP, try running with out security and if u can connect then thats ur problem, In your router u should see WAP2-PSK, then select 'AES+TKIP' then on the other machine select the same or just 'AES' or 'TKIP' or both if it shows it. You should be good to.

I had the same exact problem your having and spent 45.00 for a new modem in the laptop 'hp', and three months trying too figure it out.
WEP was not supported on the wireless modem for the laptop.

WEP is no longer supported in newer device due to easily cracked by hackers.

One other thing, if using a linksys usb wireless or other brand, don't us the software that comes with it, us windows wireless zero configuration.

Hope this helps....

cf

_________________
Click here to mass bait lotto lads
Greetings to you...
Note: Your fund with us is not in liquid form but in Bank Check
for your own good now you want to fuck up with me <[email protected]>
Osama Bin Laddin's hard Rocket [mask:1]<[email protected]>[/mask:1]
please send my details on how to reach you thanks <[email protected]>
PLEASE RESPECT YOUR SELF BY SENDING ME FAKE INFORMATION OK <tony_emeka>
Phish 1x United States
Fake Banks Killed: United Kingdom x8 |Nigeria x1 |Spain x1
View user's profileSend private messageSkype Name
ParaNoid
** REMEMBERED **


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 5123
Location: Looking for Steward.


PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I used to have problems like this.

It was usually the string or the can that was the problem... Shocked


I do hope you get this sorted and I shudder that I have been thinking of linking several computers together in the home. I'm not planning wireless though. Too scary. Confused

_________________
Gold Coins here

pony pony Closed lad accounts Goat Goat Goat Goat Sand Timer Easter Egg Easter 2015
Mortar x 4 <b>Looking for a Mentor? Click here</b>

"If I get mad at you, please just understand me. I am just being ParaNoid because I love you so much." - unknown

Visit www.scamwarners.com
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Philo Kvetch
Master of Master Baiters


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 569


PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:00 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Sometimes services that start before wireless cause an incorrect IP to be assigned and you will receive that error.

Open a command window... start>run>cmd
type ipconfig/renew

If it keeps happening systematically disable stuff that automatically starts until you find the offender.

_________________
Pith Helmet

Click here to support 419Eater.com
View user's profileSend private message
foo
Elite Baiter


Joined: 12 Nov 2009
Posts: 1271
Location: Itteh Bitteh Kitteh Citteh


PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:25 am Reply with quoteBack to top

spot wrote:
What is my"Preferred DNS Server" , where do I find it ? ...is there another name for it (maybe)

8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 are good fast ones, run by Google. I generally don't use ISP-provided DNS servers because a lot of ISPs (Comcast in particular) have proven themselves to be absolutely incompetent at running them, and some use them to hijack mistyped URLs and redirect them to a search page full of ads. That said, if you're not actually having problems with DNS, there's no real reason to change this - it can make things slightly faster in some cases but generally won't matter.

By the way, 169.0.0.0/8 addresses are automatically picked by Windows when there's a problem getting an address from the router. They're not real addresses, and won't work outside of the local system. (The technical term is "link-local address", if you want to read more.)

Quote:
One other thing, if using a linksys usb wireless or other brand, don't us the software that comes with it, us windows wireless zero configuration.

Please, for the love of all that is holy and for the good of the world, follow this advice. That crap makes me want to puke. Just wanted to get that off my chest, first person I've found who agrees with me Smile

_________________
Closed lad accounts*15 [United StatesNigeriaDenmarkGhanaUnited KingdomThailandGermanyMalaysiaSwitzerlandFilipino flagBahamas, TheBenin]*244 Easter Egg 2011

Unopenable image file | mtcntool | IBMP

"Having acknowledge your email with the content well noted and understood,see we have had enough off this shit from you." --Lamido Sanusi
"i want to scam you ! please understand . i am scamer !" --a scamer
"shit happens. but there's always a silver lining" --Slightly
View user's profileSend private message
Pastor Frank
Moderator


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 11564
Location: EN34ix


PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:07 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I recommend OpenDNS (free version) for your DNS Server. I have been using it for about a year and I find it very fast and highly customizable.

http://www.opendns.com/

Here are the IP's

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

_________________
"Father Juan are sure that you are man of God,because your behaviors showed you as unbeliever" -Mary R
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
crossfire
Elite Baiter


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 1152
Location: ten light years away


PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:16 am Reply with quoteBack to top

if u have 'Limited or no connectivity' on a wireless u will not receive an
IP, it cant, because it cannot connect, logic only tells the truth... Wink

_________________
Click here to mass bait lotto lads
Greetings to you...
Note: Your fund with us is not in liquid form but in Bank Check
for your own good now you want to fuck up with me <[email protected]>
Osama Bin Laddin's hard Rocket [mask:1]<[email protected]>[/mask:1]
please send my details on how to reach you thanks <[email protected]>
PLEASE RESPECT YOUR SELF BY SENDING ME FAKE INFORMATION OK <tony_emeka>
Phish 1x United States
Fake Banks Killed: United Kingdom x8 |Nigeria x1 |Spain x1
View user's profileSend private messageSkype Name
thud419
Baiting Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 3193


PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'd agree that the most likely cause is that the security has not been set-up correctly.

For high security you need WPA-PSK2, but if you have a Nintendo DS in the house, you have to use WEP. Evil or Very Mad

Use TKIP encryption; that seems to be more available. (eg. My Netgear DG834 doesn't support AES). WPA-802.1x needs a server, which you don't have.

When setting up, set the router to broadcast the SSID, but once everything is working switch it off. It means any drive-by stealing of your bandwidth has to mess around for 5-10 minutes longer.

And of course, make sure you type the pass-phrase right every time.

_________________
Click here to feel warm and cozy.

I did not f**k your wife in any way -- Nike Akanbi
I don't know what else to do or do I continue filling and filling forms. -- Barr. Koloti
you has been dribbling me up and down but I will show some thing you have never seen before, I think you breath air wait and see. -- Sand Timer Barr. Cole
Cellphone x14
United States x 0.25 won from Reaper in a sucker's bet

Hello Kitty! pony Mortar x8 Closed lad accounts x several
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



** Find out information about your IP address **


All Content © 2003 - 419Eater.com
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :S5: FI Theme :: All times are GMT