SmartFeedSmartFeed          

WELCOME - YOU ARE CURRENTLY VIEWING 419EATER AS A GUEST

By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics and access other forums reserved for members. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today by clicking here.

ScamWarners.com - Internet Anti-Fraud Center - now open!

These forums are READ ONLY. Click here to register on our new forums - aff.419eater.com

Advice, please

View next topic
View previous topic

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
JackintheBox
Not quite a Newb

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm a bit new to this so I hope you don't mind what may be a stupid question...

I have been lurking here for a bit and have had bit of fun baiting with 419 scammers but I decided a couple of days ago to try something a bit different.

I signed up on a dating website with really boring details and a slightly ridiculous name. I have picked up one or two people who I am sure will soon want some money to come to America to marry me (pity I don't live in America!).

I then received a message from someone who seems genuine - ordinary photograph rather than a model and has bothered to fill in all the profile down to favorite book and quotation. She has sent me a personal email (rather than one which is clearly for mass use) and she has NOT asked me to contact her on her yahoo.com/gmail email address.

In real life I am happily nearly married with a little boy and do not want to chat with, make friends with, get romantic with or do anything with a 'real ' person - I just want to play out with the scammers.

My instinct is to contact her and explain what I am doing (ask her to Google 'scambaiting', perhaps) but wondered whether there may be a good reason for me not to do that. If I just ignore her it might reduce the self-confidence of someone who sounds lonely already