SmartFeedSmartFeed          

Porsche Hangout


WELCOME - YOU ARE CURRENTLY VIEWING 419EATER AS A GUEST

By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics and access other forums reserved for members. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today by clicking here.

ScamWarners.com - Internet Anti-Fraud Center - now open!


 MS Vista

View next topic
View previous topic
 
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Tae
** REMEMBERED **


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 507
Location: Austria


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:58 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Another good read: Linux is NOT Windows

_________________
Mortar x3

"DO YOU LOVE ME?IF YES THEN CALL ME LETS MAKE LOVE ON THE PHONE." DR.CLIFFORD ANDERSON


Kill a bank a day!
View user's profileSend private message
Ivor Grimey Colon
"Trophy slut"


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 1338
Location: England


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

^^ I've read that one before and can highly recommend it.

_________________
Cellphone Mortar x25 Closed lad accounts x24 Pith Helmet Togo-Ghana "If i tell you that i am happy the way you are playing me i am a lier" - Uche Onwuka
"YOU ARE AN IDIOT AND SON OF A BITCH" - Barrister Melodie Bekee

"If your bait does not cause an ethics thread, you are not baiting hard enough." - YeaWhatever

Pimp My Number | A Donation a Day keeps Nurse Nasty at bay
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have a question about Ubuntu linux, I have an Ubuntu live demo and and install CD, I can't see the live demo because it says you need at least 128MB of RAM, I only have 32MB Ram on this computer.

But to install the Ubuntu on my computer I only need 32MB RAM, which I have, and it says I have to have an Intel x86-based computer, how do I tell if my computer has that x86 thing? By the way, this CD is a couple of years old, it's version 5.04 for Intel x86

On the install CD cover it says:

Quote:
Use this CD if you want to install Ubuntu on your computer. To install Ubuntu, put the CD in the CD drive, turn on or restart the computer and follow thw directions on screen.

The default installation will erase all existing software and data from your computer. However an expert installation mode is available. If you want to keep your existing files alongside Ubuntu, follow the on screen instructions carefully during installation.


Now, my questions are, if I install Ubuntu, what exactly does it erase from my computer, does it completely wipe Windows ME from my machine?

Also, I have a lot of html files and numerous notepad files in my documents folder, will all ofthose be erased, or, as it says on the Ubuntu CD cover "If you want to keep your existing files alongside Ubuntu, follow the onscreen instructions", so, will I be able to keep all my html webpage files and notepad files etc, I dont want all those erased?

I had a read of the Ubuntu site, and note that you can use FireFox on Ubuntu, I thought Ubuntu had it's own browser, no? Will my screen when using FireFox look exactly the same as it is now on Windows ME, not sure whether to install this or not.

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery
View user's profileSend private message
Tae
** REMEMBERED **


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 507
Location: Austria


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You can either install Ubuntu instead Windows, which will erase all your data or you can set up a dual boot system.

I've set up a dual boot system with Windows XP and Ubuntu several times without any problems. You should save your important data anyway, just in case you push the wrong button.

If you have a "normal" PC it's probably x86.

_________________
Mortar x3

"DO YOU LOVE ME?IF YES THEN CALL ME LETS MAKE LOVE ON THE PHONE." DR.CLIFFORD ANDERSON


Kill a bank a day!
View user's profileSend private message
Ivor Grimey Colon
"Trophy slut"


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 1338
Location: England


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

That's a lot of questions, SP, let's see what I can do:
Quote:
I have a question about Ubuntu linux, I have an Ubuntu live demo and and install CD, I can't see the live demo because it says you need at least 128MB of RAM, I only have 32MB Ram on this computer.
I wouldn't reccomend running Ubuntu (using the GNOME desktop) with only 32MB of RAM. GNOME is quite a heavyweight desktop environment, and is likely to be quite sluggish with less than 128MB. I reccomend you use Xubuntu, which uses XFCE, a lighter desktop environment.
If you wish to use standard Ubuntu with the GNOME desktop, you can install it using the Alternate install CD. This installs in text mode (not the same as command-line, just means no mouse), and will therefore run with less RAM.

Quote:
But to install the Ubuntu on my computer I only need 32MB RAM, which I have, and it says I have to have an Intel x86-based computer, how do I tell if my computer has that x86 thing? By the way, this CD is a couple of years old, it's version 5.04 for Intel x86
x86 is the architecture used my the majority of laptop and desktop processors. If you've got an Intel or AMD processor in your computer, it's x86 compatible.

Quote:
Now, my questions are, if I install Ubuntu, what exactly does it erase from my computer, does it completely wipe Windows ME from my machine?

Also, I have a lot of html files and numerous notepad files in my documents folder, will all ofthose be erased, or, as it says on the Ubuntu CD cover "If you want to keep your existing files alongside Ubuntu, follow the onscreen instructions", so, will I be able to keep all my html webpage files and notepad files etc, I dont want all those erased?


It's only common sense to back up all files you don't want to lose when doing something like installing a new OS, but if you do it right, you shouldn't have to erase anything.
To install Linux alongside WinME, you'll need to partition the disk. You'll probably find that the Win partition is FAT32, and takes up the whole disk, so you'll need to defragment it, then shrink it. I assume you know how to defrag, and shrinking can be done by the partitioning tool on your install disk (it's easiest if you use a graphical install like the Xubuntu disk if you haven't partitioned before).

You can then tell the installer to partition up the free space as necessary (you'll want to shrink the Windows partition by at least 2GB, but more if you can), or if you're feeling confident, partition it yourself. You'll want a boot parition (ext2) of about 10 MB, which is where the kernel image and bootloader are installed, then a root partition (ext3) for the system files, around 2GB minimum and probably a home partition (ext3) for your documents and settings, which can take up as much space as you'll need.
Once again, BACK UP anything you don't want to lose. I made the mistake of assume I knew what I was doing and lost all my and my family's documents the first time I tried to partition my disk.

Since your Windows partition is FAT32, you'll still be able to access it from Linux.
The installer will also set up a bootloader with options to boot into either Linux or Windows.

Quote:
I had a read of the Ubuntu site, and note that you can use FireFox on Ubuntu, I thought Ubuntu had it's own browser, no? Will my screen when using FireFox look exactly the same as it is now on Windows ME, not sure whether to install this or not.
There's a multitude of browsers for Linux. Ubuntu doesn't have it's "own" browser, but will have the GNOME browser/file manager Nautilus installed by default, as well as Firefox.
If you install the same extensions and themes for Firefox on Linux as on Windows, yes they'll look exactly the same.

HTH! Smile

_________________
Cellphone Mortar x25 Closed lad accounts x24 Pith Helmet Togo-Ghana "If i tell you that i am happy the way you are playing me i am a lier" - Uche Onwuka
"YOU ARE AN IDIOT AND SON OF A BITCH" - Barrister Melodie Bekee

"If your bait does not cause an ethics thread, you are not baiting hard enough." - YeaWhatever

Pimp My Number | A Donation a Day keeps Nurse Nasty at bay
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Cheers Tae and IGC, you have well and truly put me off trying to install linux Laughing

Not sure I can make a back up of files on this computer, tried it before and it wouldn't let me save it or something, can't remember, most of what you said went flying over my head, I think I wil give linux a miss, thanks for explainging what a pain in the ass it is to install.

[edit]

Can someone refresh me about how I make a back up files, like in saving them on to a CD, or is it on to a floppy disc?

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery
View user's profileSend private message
Ivor Grimey Colon
"Trophy slut"


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 1338
Location: England


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:28 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You can backup your files by getting a USB stick, copying the files you don't want to lose, and pasting them into a folder on the USB stick, or getting a blank CD, and burning a copy of the files on there.

Yes you need to learn a few new things to install Linux, but think of it like this: Learning to drive is a pain in the arse, but once you've done it, you've got a lot more freedom. Installing Linux is a lot easier than driving.
But if you're happy riding someone else's bus, it's entirely up to you Wink

If you want something which hides all the technical aspects of installing Linux, openSUSE is a good'n.

_________________
Cellphone Mortar x25 Closed lad accounts x24 Pith Helmet Togo-Ghana "If i tell you that i am happy the way you are playing me i am a lier" - Uche Onwuka
"YOU ARE AN IDIOT AND SON OF A BITCH" - Barrister Melodie Bekee

"If your bait does not cause an ethics thread, you are not baiting hard enough." - YeaWhatever

Pimp My Number | A Donation a Day keeps Nurse Nasty at bay
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:36 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

How do these memory sticks work, is it a case of plugging it in to the back of your computer, then some box pops up after you plug it in, and lets you drag files in to the box to save them on the memory stick?

After you save it to the stick, net time you plug the stick in to the computer, a box opens and lets you save them to your computer again?

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery
View user's profileSend private message
Rodus
Baiting Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 3685
Location: Back under the cold shower


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:38 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

^^^Yes

_________________
I will kiss you romance u,suck and penetrate u - Williams Muyeke
now am as poor as a church rat - Lou1s Mar1on
I AM FINANCIALLY DEAD RIGHT AWAY - Louis in Accra
u can keep sending money to Gomer and leave me alone - Agent Smith cracks up

Pith Helmet Lou1s Mar1on - Lagos to Accra (satellite IP) - "so, what i need to do to get out of these place?"
Sand Timer - 18 mths: Louis

starstar

The*Catb1ngo Hotel*
*My Church*

pony pony pony Nurse Nastys Audi TT Nurse Nastys Audi TT Mortar x23 Closed lad accounts
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
Ivor Grimey Colon
"Trophy slut"


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 1338
Location: England


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:39 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Pretty much. In Windows ME, you might have to go to My Computer and open "Removable Disk" after plugging it in, but other than that, you've got it pretty much spot on.

You'll need a spare USB port to plug the stick in to, as well.

_________________
Cellphone Mortar x25 Closed lad accounts x24 Pith Helmet Togo-Ghana "If i tell you that i am happy the way you are playing me i am a lier" - Uche Onwuka
"YOU ARE AN IDIOT AND SON OF A BITCH" - Barrister Melodie Bekee

"If your bait does not cause an ethics thread, you are not baiting hard enough." - YeaWhatever

Pimp My Number | A Donation a Day keeps Nurse Nasty at bay
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:42 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, cheers, you can all carry on with your viasta chat now Very Happy

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery
View user's profileSend private message
kleindoofy
*** BANNED ***


Joined: 24 Oct 2004
Posts: 6248
Location: Europe


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ivor Grimey Colon wrote:
You can backup your files by getting a USB stick ...


I'd need a stack of DVDs. Cool

I usually do backups across a network to other harddisks. At any one time I have up to seven copies of everything, not counting the archive DVDs.
View user's profileSend private message
thud419
Baiting Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 3193


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:54 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm late to this thread, and since it has become an OS discussion since I last saw it, I'll add my own 2 cents.

Pastor Frank wrote:
I figure that if I am going to make a clean break from MS this would be the time to do it. (Between XP and Vista)
I did the same thing between W2000 and XP. I decided that the XP EULA was something I was never going to agree with. I had had paid-for Windows installations since Windows 3.0. I haven't looked back since. If I want a cutting-edge game I use the Playstation, and nothing else needs Windows.
Quote:
I don't want to go through the XP security and patch nightmare again with Vista.
There are about as many security patchs for Linux as for Windows, but they install quickly, don't break the machine and don't require rebooting 90% of the time. The only time I had a problem was when the kernel changed and I did not reboot as required, but did restart the GUI, whereupon the graphics driver failed becuase it was running against the wrong kernel. Once I understood, a reboot fixed it.
Quote:
Like you I have been on a PC for many years and if I make the change it will be painful to say the least.
Back when I was a newbie with Mandriva Linux, it was generally one month between a Linux-virgin newbie appearing on the mailing list, and and the first time they answered another newbie's question. There is a learning curve but it only takes about a month to be fairly comfortable.

With both Windows and Linux you will occasionally find a problem that has you tearing out your hair for three days. The difference is that with Windows you end up having reformatted, reinstalled, maybe lost all your data, learned nothing and feeling worthless. With Linux you learn something new, get it working and feel empowered.

Everyone ships Microsoft drivers with hardware, most ship OSX drivers, but only a few ship Linux drivers. As a result Microsoft is easier to use. My new phone comes with nice applications that I could use with Windows, but if I want to use it with Linux I have to go out and search for third-party software that will do the same thing. If all you want is a basic PC, then Linux is just as easy as Windows, and once you have everything installed for some new feature you want to have, it is still just as easy. But to get that new feature you have to do research and some fiddling.

http://webaugur.com/bibliotheca/field_stock/os-airlines.html wrote:
Linux Airlines
Disgruntled employees of all the other OS airlines decide to start their own airline. They build the planes, ticket counters, and pave the runways themselves. They charge a small fee to cover the cost of printing the ticket, but you can also download and print the ticket yourself. When you board the plane, you are given a seat, four bolts, a wrench and a copy of the seat-HOWTO.html. Once settled, the fully adjustable seat is very comfortable, the plane leaves and arrives on time without a single problem, the in-flight meal is wonderful. You try to tell customers of the other airlines about the great trip, but all they can say is, "You had to do what with the seat?"


I'm not a Mac fan, but on a simple cost analysis Linux wins. Apple is generally more expensive than Microsoft. Linux is almost totally free of cost. (Although now OSX is based on BSD Unix, you do have the free software available too, with the Linux-type research and fiddling.)

KDE is closer to the Windows experience than the other desktops. So at the moment I would suggest Kubuntu. Because all the patches and new software comes from the Internet, I would not advise Linux if you don't have a broadband Internet connection.

_________________
Click here to feel warm and cozy.

I did not f**k your wife in any way -- Nike Akanbi
I don't know what else to do or do I continue filling and filling forms. -- Barr. Koloti
you has been dribbling me up and down but I will show some thing you have never seen before, I think you breath air wait and see. -- Sand Timer Barr. Cole
Cellphone x14
United States x 0.25 won from Reaper in a sucker's bet

Hello Kitty! pony Mortar x8 Closed lad accounts x several
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Scam Patroller wrote:
I have a question about Ubuntu linux, I have an Ubuntu live demo and and install CD, I can't see the live demo because it says you need at least 128MB of RAM, I only have 32MB Ram on this computer.


Hmmm, I have always been under the impression that this computer was only 32MB RAM, I just noticed when I was running CCleaner, that it says this at the top of the CCleaner screen:

Quote:
MS Windows ME
256MB RAM, RAGE PRO TURBO AGP X2


Went to control panel and double clicked on the "system" icon, and that says I have 256MB RAM, could have swore on my life it said 32 before Confused

Image

But, why can I not run the Ubuntu live demo CD, I get the Ubuntu screen where it gives the stuff you can download, like FireFox, Audacity, OpenOffice etc, but can't see how to get the live demo, it suggests to reboot your computer and leave the CD in whilst doing so, did that but nothing happens when I reboot?

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery

Last edited by Scam Patroller on Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:42 pm; edited 3 times in total
View user's profileSend private message
Mr Fishe
Baiting Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 2242
Location: PL_Goldrush


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:39 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

For a split second I was about to edit out your personal details there, Mr Person. Laughing

_________________
Lads love forms!

Magic eye fun: Western Union MoneyGram
Pre-transfer red tape: Department of Homeland Security HM Revenue & Customs
Mandatory customer survey: Western Union


"I have decided to leave the church and join a travelling circus..." - the original and best
View user's profileSend private message
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:46 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

^^^^^ Laughing, think it was already configured as Mr Person Person when I got the computer.

One more question, I need to run a DVD ROM and it says I need a minimum of Windows 98SE to run it, did 98SE come out after Windows ME? Because the DVD wont start in ME, cheers.

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery
View user's profileSend private message
Rodus
Baiting Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 3685
Location: Back under the cold shower


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:33 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

^^^98 Was before ME (millenium Edition) Don't worry, NOTHING works under ME

_________________
I will kiss you romance u,suck and penetrate u - Williams Muyeke
now am as poor as a church rat - Lou1s Mar1on
I AM FINANCIALLY DEAD RIGHT AWAY - Louis in Accra
u can keep sending money to Gomer and leave me alone - Agent Smith cracks up

Pith Helmet Lou1s Mar1on - Lagos to Accra (satellite IP) - "so, what i need to do to get out of these place?"
Sand Timer - 18 mths: Louis

starstar

The*Catb1ngo Hotel*
*My Church*

pony pony pony Nurse Nastys Audi TT Nurse Nastys Audi TT Mortar x23 Closed lad accounts
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
Ziggyzap
419Eater is my life


Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Norwich


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Sod Vista OSX 10 is so much better.

_________________
grammar spelling? like I give a shit

MAY YOU DIE A DEAD BEFORE YOUR DEATH.

iF YOU KNOW THAT YOU HAVE A TESTICLE BETWEEN YOUR TWO LEG GO AND GIVE YOUR
MOTHER BELLE EWU LIKE YOU
www.owenswinebar.co.nr
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
wayne
Account closed at users request


Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 3630


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:39 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Quote:
it suggests to reboot your computer and leave the CD in whilst doing so, did that but nothing happens when I reboot?


Is your PC set in the BIOS to boot from the CD drive before the hard drive?

Quote:
RAGE PRO TURBO AGP X2


Which I think has 32meg not your PC.

_________________
Mortar x56
View user's profileSend private message
Rodus
Baiting Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 3685
Location: Back under the cold shower


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:44 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

@Ziggyzap. Damn right.

@wayne. I don't think the rage pro turbo ever came with more then 8mb of vram, don't forget that it's about 10 years old now.

_________________
I will kiss you romance u,suck and penetrate u - Williams Muyeke
now am as poor as a church rat - Lou1s Mar1on
I AM FINANCIALLY DEAD RIGHT AWAY - Louis in Accra
u can keep sending money to Gomer and leave me alone - Agent Smith cracks up

Pith Helmet Lou1s Mar1on - Lagos to Accra (satellite IP) - "so, what i need to do to get out of these place?"
Sand Timer - 18 mths: Louis

starstar

The*Catb1ngo Hotel*
*My Church*

pony pony pony Nurse Nastys Audi TT Nurse Nastys Audi TT Mortar x23 Closed lad accounts
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
DrWho
Baiting Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 5486
Location: Where ever I go, there I am


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

So many commentable statements but I will only ask:
Quote:
I would not advise Linux if you don't have a broadband Internet connection.
Why? I started using Linux with a dialup and it worked fine. Setup was easy. And that was when I knew almost nothing about Linux and it was in its less friendly form than it is now. Much more manual file manipulation than now.

I would say that you can use Linux no matter what kind of connection you have.

_________________
"i think you people do not know whom you are talking of,i am not in any terrorist organization or planning any such of terrorist activities."
"i am not a terrorist and your america cia cna also investigate me."
"i am not a terrorist.send the shit stuff and let me get it fillied."

United Nations Mortar x12
"To Serve Man"
View user's profileSend private message
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

wayne wrote:
Is your PC set in the BIOS to boot from the CD drive before the hard drive?


Wayne, this is me you are talking to, I don't understand anything about what you wrote Confused Is there a button to click somewhere which will tell me the answer to what you asked?

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery
View user's profileSend private message
remu
Master of Master Baiters


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 571


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:01 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

The first screen that comes up when you boot should say something to the effect of "Press F2 to enter SETUP". Press the button it indicates. Somewhere inside that it should have a list of devices from which it can boot, and you need to make sure that CD-ROM is the first item it tries to boot from.

Failing that, you can try Smart BootManager, which lets you make a floppy disk that will boot from CD. Assuming your computer will boot from a floppy, that is Wink

_________________
ムーグー!
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailSkype Name
Scam Patroller
Baiting Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 11852
Location: UK


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:13 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

^^^^^ I don't get any "press F2" message when I boot, just the usual black screen that says updating files and then continuing to load windows, then the Windows ME screen, then desktop starts loading.

I don't understand all that stuff on the link you posted, i tried making a floppy disk before but I don't know if it worked, not even sure how to burn it using that nero burning rom tool, never sure if it actually copies the stuff or not, and I only have one floppy disk which is at least 8 years old and I think that doesn't work.

_________________
Pith Helmet 10 Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Safari Suitcase
40x Nigeria 4x South Africa 2x Ghana 2x Benin 10x Ivory Coast 34x United Kingdom 17x United States 9x Spain 1x Belgium 1x 6x European Union 4x Canada 1x New Zealand 6x Netherlands 1x pyramid 23x Cellphone Jolly Roger
Vcamera YMCA Vcamera Summer Holdiay + Bus Hijack

www.scamwarners.com - www.scam-info-links.info - www.aa419.org - The Numpties Gallery
View user's profileSend private message
remu
Master of Master Baiters


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 571


PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:17 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

^^ Hmm, there is some way to get into a setup screen on your computer, but it could be F1, F2, F3 (rare), F8, F10, F12, Tab, Delete, or (on one computer that I've seen) M. Usually they are nice enough to tell you, but in your case I guess they didn't. Usually you only have a one or two second time period to hit the right key during boot up Confused

_________________
ムーグー!
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailSkype Name
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



E-Mail Header Analysis


All Content © 2003 - 419Eater.com
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :S5: FI Theme :: All times are GMT