| Author |
Message |
GreyAmadeus
419Eater is my life

Joined: 19 Jul 2010
Posts: 403
Location: Just behind that Higgs particle

|
Posted:
Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:17 am |
  |
Require some advice please
Somebody claiming to be from this company contacted a work colleague asking for bank account details to make a donation (to our charity). No bank account was given but now our logo appears on their site.
An email went round warning of a suspicious phone call and it sent alarm bells ringing.
I think this may be fraudulent for the following reasons:
+No contact address
+UK based (due to 0800 freephone number) but not in companies house EDIT: Is listed in Companies House as 'Dissolved'
+Ask for bank details to register - unencrypted form
+Unaffiliated whois and short registration period
| Quote: |
Domain name:
zamstar.co.uk
Registrant:
Michelle Badrock
Registrant type:
Unknown
Registrant's address:
63a Kempenfeldt Ave
Sorrento
WA
6 020
Australia
Registered through:
GoDaddy.com, Inc.
URL: http://www.godaddy.com
Registrar:
Key-Systems GmbH [Tag = KEY-SYSTEMS-DE]
URL: http://www.Key-Systems.net
Relevant dates:
Registered on: 17-Sep-2009
Renewal date: 17-Sep-2011
Last updated: 02-Jun-2010
Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.
Name servers:
ns1.theplanet.com
ns2.theplanet.com
Disclaimer
WHOIS lookup made at 11:06:05 05-Apr-2011
|
Also, no other web presence
Can I get a few opinions please - want to be careful as this is related to something that happened at work
I will kill if it is killable |
_________________
x7 x29 x5 x2 x2 x3
From: "you are the most important and special person in my life as far as this deal is concern"
To: "I ALREADY KNOW YOU ARE A BIG FOOL. I WILL APOLOGIZE ONLY FOR YOUR ASS AND BIG HEAD"
...in two weeks - Jean-Pierre
"We have had enough of these irregularities and we are not ready to play along with your antics anymore!" - Robert Lukman
"You are the biggest He Goat. You know what you need? Your Fat mama's ass...to feel good and normal" - also Robert Lukman (to Mr Gom3r) |
|
|
|
 |
woody999
Dormain Reshuffler

Joined: 30 May 2009
Posts: 10330
Location: East of Humptulips

|
Posted:
Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:58 pm |
  |
www.zamstar.co.uk |
_________________ "Why do you tell lies that are not useful" Phillip Okeke
"I lost my assories" Barr. Angus Bu...g
"YOU NEED SOME DOCTOR" Barrister Peter Paul
I dont know who is lieing ,either you or F3lcha1r -
>11 x 105
                  
                 
Peru : sri lanka : USVI : Oman x 3633
x 38 x2 |
|
|
|
 |
DoraTheExplorer
Anonymous

Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 9244
Location: Taking Early Retirement

|
Posted:
Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:31 pm |
  |
|
|
|
 |
GreyAmadeus
419Eater is my life

Joined: 19 Jul 2010
Posts: 403
Location: Just behind that Higgs particle

|
Posted:
Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:06 pm |
  |
Hmmm, I guess you are right Dora.
Just felt like a needed a second opinion as it was a real curve ball in terms of my day-to-day work
Happy for this thread to be moved if there are no other opinions. I'm going to keep an eye on this and do some more personal investigation but I'll formally disassociate my interest in this site from this forum as it's not definitely 419/scam |
_________________
x7 x29 x5 x2 x2 x3
From: "you are the most important and special person in my life as far as this deal is concern"
To: "I ALREADY KNOW YOU ARE A BIG FOOL. I WILL APOLOGIZE ONLY FOR YOUR ASS AND BIG HEAD"
...in two weeks - Jean-Pierre
"We have had enough of these irregularities and we are not ready to play along with your antics anymore!" - Robert Lukman
"You are the biggest He Goat. You know what you need? Your Fat mama's ass...to feel good and normal" - also Robert Lukman (to Mr Gom3r) |
|
|
|
 |
ratter
Master of Master Baiters

Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 629
Location: Disembarking at Duvalier Airport

|
Posted:
Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:21 pm |
  |
^^^ you might contact the restaurants and/or the other charities featured on the site and see what they have to say. |
_________________
xseveral
              = 56
PayPal Modality |
|
|
|
 |
DoraTheExplorer
Anonymous

Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 9244
Location: Taking Early Retirement

|
Posted:
Sat May 14, 2011 5:48 pm |
  |
I have looked at this multiple times and while I don't think it is our 419 AFF, I don't think it is completely legit either. Probably could/should be moved to Misc Scams for now.  |
_________________
                   
                  x 2714
Paga John Paga Willie Paga Kingsley James
The Dynamic Duo Travels!  |
|
|
|
 |
alex123123
Hello I'm New here!

Joined: 29 Feb 2012
Posts: 1

|
Posted:
Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:15 am |
  |
|
|
|
 |
B8er
boomdazzler

Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 2279
Location: Praying at the Church of Adobe

|
Posted:
Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:31 am |
  |
And what is your connection to the site? Or are you another of those "independent" one-post members who just happen to search on a site and post good things about them on forums, contradicting what everyone else says.
Oh and nice necro by the way. |
_________________ As regard the blanck paper, I wanted to put in the word, but I didn't remember to write the words before we took the pictures. - Pastor Evans
Which one is your name Gender: Male or Mike Hunt - Samson Johnson
Larry Uzo - Abia state Nigeria>Cotonou>Natitingou>Cotonou>Abia State
x 138 x 50 x 17 x 5 x 4 x 3 x 3 x 3 x 3 x 3 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2
x 2 x 54 x 112 - Fake cheques: $4,031,969.31 USD  |
|
|
|
 |
Kronuk
Not quite a Newb

Joined: 21 Feb 2012
Posts: 77
Location: Hiding from the Hitlads, possibly under a rock

|
Posted:
Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:36 am |
  |
Except that the company is not listed with companies house and there is no registered charity with that name either.
Unless you have the charity number?
The website seems very sketchy as there are no real details given. You cant see which restraunts are part of the scheme, unlike other dining cards so that doesnt inspire any confidence either.
EDIT: B if we keep meeting in these necro'd threads people will start to talk |
_________________
x2 x3
I sincerely think you handling this account opening process really slowly - Mr Norman Chan
i w#nk to know how much you can afford - Mohammed Zahaf |
|
|
|
 |
Kronuk
Not quite a Newb

Joined: 21 Feb 2012
Posts: 77
Location: Hiding from the Hitlads, possibly under a rock

|
Posted:
Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:10 am |
  |
Sorry for the DP
But there is also www.zamstar.com which is almost identical to the .co.uk page.
The company on that is Zamstar Card Ltd but this is listed at companies house
Definately very fishy though unless www.zamstar.co.uk is a clone of zamstar.com for scam purposes and zamstar are un aware?
Although there is also www.zamstar-uk.co.uk |
_________________
x2 x3
I sincerely think you handling this account opening process really slowly - Mr Norman Chan
i w#nk to know how much you can afford - Mohammed Zahaf |
|
|
|
 |
B8er
boomdazzler

Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 2279
Location: Praying at the Church of Adobe

|
Posted:
Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:31 am |
  |
To me all 3 sites look dodgy.
The WhoIs for zamstar.com shows that it was registered in December for one year and that the registrant used a proxy service to hide their identity.
The WhoIs for zamstar-uk.co.uk shows that it was registered in November for the minimum 2 years by someone in the Philippines.
Add to that the lack of physical address on the site (a requirement for UK businesses) and the unsecure login/registration pages and they don't look good.
They may not be AFF (and so out of this site's scope), but I wouldn't trust them with any money.
Thanks to alex123123 for bringing these sites back to our attention and improving their position in the Google results  |
_________________ As regard the blanck paper, I wanted to put in the word, but I didn't remember to write the words before we took the pictures. - Pastor Evans
Which one is your name Gender: Male or Mike Hunt - Samson Johnson
Larry Uzo - Abia state Nigeria>Cotonou>Natitingou>Cotonou>Abia State
x 138 x 50 x 17 x 5 x 4 x 3 x 3 x 3 x 3 x 3 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2
x 2 x 54 x 112 - Fake cheques: $4,031,969.31 USD  |
|
|
|
 |
Kronuk
Not quite a Newb

Joined: 21 Feb 2012
Posts: 77
Location: Hiding from the Hitlads, possibly under a rock

|
Posted:
Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:37 am |
  |
| Quote: |
| Thanks to alex123123 for bringing these sites back to our attention and improving their position in the Google results Laughing |
Just spotted it on page 4. Interestingly ahead of the only thing that makes the site look legit which is at the top of page 6 and is
[url]twitter.com/#!/zamstarinside[/url]
I dont have time to look into the resturants being quoted on the feed but that may lend a clue to the legitamacy of it. |
_________________
x2 x3
I sincerely think you handling this account opening process really slowly - Mr Norman Chan
i w#nk to know how much you can afford - Mohammed Zahaf |
|
|
|
 |
|
|