SmartFeedSmartFeed          



WELCOME - YOU ARE CURRENTLY VIEWING 419EATER AS A GUEST

By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics and access other forums reserved for members. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today by clicking here.

ScamWarners.com - Internet Anti-Fraud Center - now open!

These forums are READ ONLY. Click here to register on our new forums - aff.419eater.com


 employment phish or is it?

View next topic
View previous topic
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
splatter
Hello I'm New here!


Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Posts: 19


PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

This is an employment phish for credit info correct? I got this for my wife this past evening the second of it's type in three days.

This is a phishing expedition I am assuming? Can anyone help me make heads or toes of this.

Email:


Dear Applicant:

Congratulations, this is a tentative offer of employment for the available position with Fujitsu Limited.

As you know, this position pays a generous hourly wage, with benefits, and also provides potential to earn additional bonuses and incentives throughout the year. You are also provided with a full lunch every day, which is made by a local catering company. We are hiring rapidly at this time, and are fully prepared to make you an employment offer, provided that you comply with the rest of the recruitment terms.

This is a full-time position. You will be providing administrative support including, but not limited to, answering phones, completing reports, tracking shipments, and some minor inventory management. Some experience working as an administrative assistant is preferred, but not required. Full paid training will be provided.

To accept these terms and move on to the final stage of the recruitment process, you must provide us with a current copy of your credit report to go in your employment file. Fujitsu Limited has a zero-tolerance policy in regards to theft of company property. Your credit scores or payment history are not important to us; rather it is a means of verifying your identity, and will also serve as your acceptance of the position. Once you fill out the report, an email is automatically generated that notifies us of your acceptance of the position, that in turn will email you new hire paperwork and give you times for your orientation. Be sure to bring 2 forms of identification with you to the orientation.

Your free report can be obtained here: http://www.cscoredirect.com/?id=8mad

This tentative offer will expire in 72 hours from the time sent. If you choose not to accept it, or have any questions, please email me directly.

We appreciate your interest in joining the team at Fujitsu Limited and hope you decide to come aboard!

Sincerely,

Thomas Williams
Human Resources Executive
[email protected]


The links is a refferrer that jumps to http://www.freescore360.com whos Registrar is: MONIKER ONLINE SERVICES, INC.

http://www.cscoredirect.com register is DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD. D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM.

FUJITSU-USA.COM Registrar: DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD. D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM

TIA

David
View user's profileSend private message
Dorothy
Baiting Guru


Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 3114
Location: somewhere over the rainbow


PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

It's an affiliate scam (though certainly some may add identity theft)...

We've seen several of them at scamwarners, and they have all worked the same way. The intermediate site leads to the real credit report site, as you already noted. You will get a "free" credit report, but you will have to give a credit card number and sign up for credit monitoring service as part of the deal. Of course you can cancel free of charge, but suffice it to say that there have been numerous complaints of people canceling and being charged anyway, or having to jump through so many hoops that they somehow weren't able to properly cancel.

Then, when your credit card is billed for the first monthly fee, the scammer collects an affiliate fee (last I checked it was $24 for creditreport.com) for referring you to them.
A few hundred people falling for this makes quite a profit for the scammer...
They do the same thing with apartment rentals, too--place ads for gorgeous apartments at less than market value, then tell the "applicant" they need to get a credit report to be considered...

And again, there are possibilities of identity theft here too, though it appears that some of them at least are not going that far.

Edit to add:

For Freescore360

Quote:
Affiliate Program Details:
Name: Credit Report - Free Score 360
Payout: $22.50 / Sale
Network: EWA Private Network
Landing Page: View Landing Page
Categories: Financial Services


So it's $22.50 per person who takes the bait.

_________________
Purple FlowerEaster Egg"I've a feeling we're not in Kansas any more..."
View user's profileSend private message
dandelion
Hello I'm New here!


Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 1


PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:36 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I also received this same email from Thomas Williams. I replied saying I was interested in the position, however, had some apprehension about supplying personal information prior to meeting anyone from the company in person.

I asked if it would be possible to provide this information after a face to face meeting in order to first ascertain that this was not going to result in identify theft.

I haven't heard back, and ended up checking online to see if anyone else had run into this issue. I found your site.

That is sad that people are so unscrupulous.
View user's profileSend private message
splatter
Hello I'm New here!


Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Posts: 19


PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks. I figured it was an attempt at identity theft. No it wouldn't be a far reach unfortionatly, but referrer spam seems about right.
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum





All Content © 2003 - 419Eater.com : SEO Company : Free SEO Audit Tool : SEO Console : AI Search Readiness : v2.5
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :S5: FI Theme :: All times are GMT